Skip to content
June 1, 2010 / thatsarahdean

Getting mugged

First published in Third Way June 2010. Guest article covering for regular columnist.

Are you feeling downhearted? Bit fed up? Do you have a general sense of ennui? You probably think the cause of this gloom is a) the recession, b) the weather or c) those Impulse adverts featuring members of The Saturdays. (An advertising campaign that reminds you simultaneously how very old you are and how much you stink. If you don’t know who The Saturdays are, then it is probably fair to conclude that you are really archaic and probably smell like your Nan.)  However I am pleased to tell you the true cause of all that negativity in your life are mug handles. I know this because recently I have been drinking my tea from a ceramic cup with no handle and it has improved my well being by 17.3%.

I’m not drinking from some cracked mug, whose handle fell off. Oh no, this lack of protrusion is by design. Very cool Danish design in fact. Essentially it is a plain ceramic beaker with a silicon sleeve around it. This means it is both a triumph of safety as well as design, and looks like it could be used in the canteen on Deep Space Nine (Pretty cool, I know.) This piece of crockery is so pleasing, that it’s innate utilitarianism can’t help but make you feel happy.

Plus the message my mug sends out to my coworkers is that I am so committed to sustainability and simple living that I don’t even need a handle to drink my fair trade rooibos. (Realistically what they are actually thinking is “Why is Sarah drinking tea out of a vase? Weirdo.”)

My radio also makes me happy. It’s wooden and retro looking, but with zippy modern, digital technology inside. I can listen to all the modern stations like Kerrang! and the soon-to-be-retro-because-it-doesn’t-exist-anymore-6Music, as well as the World Service without any hiss. (I know! Amazing.) However I should point out that my radio also only has one speaker, which means it’s mono and what’s more, I don’t care! I know stereo makes everything sound better, (except The Saturdays. They smell like flowers, but sing like harpies); but when it comes to aesthetics, a single mono speaker just looks cooler. When I look at my nice homely old-by-actually-new wooden radio, I feel happy.

I realise that confessing this makes me sound a bit silly and shallow, and I agree. It is ridiculous that having nice looking but slightly impractical things, makes me happy. I feel guilty about it. However my friend Elaine recently bought the same handle-less mugs and tweeted: “Yesterday I went a bit mad and bought some overpriced cups. They are making me happy. Stop judging me! Stop it!”

So I am going to take Elaine’s advice and cut myself some slack. I reckon its better stewardship of my time and energy to stop obsessing about being shallow. And as for the rest of you judging me, remember what Jesus said about consumerism – “Let he who is without sin, cast the first Iphone.”

Leave a Reply

